1. Kristen

Kristen New Member

Does anyone else have a semi colon addiction?

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Kristen, Jan 24, 2011.

I know I overuse semi colons...I just love the way that sentences sound!

Anyone else need to attend SC anonymous with me?

:p

2. HeinleinFan

HeinleinFan Banned

Well, I certainly use semicolons frequently. In essays and technical papers, I often find that the semicolon is a good way to show that points are related.

While I don't think gratuitous use of semicolons is useful, I know I use semicolons, m-dashes and such more than many writers. But I'm not convinced this is a bad thing. Yes, there are many people who use hyphens and semicolons infrequently (if ever). But I am a more competent writer than many, so saying "most people do it differently" holds little weight.

I don't use semicolons as often when I write fiction. There may be a reason for this, but I suspect it's just because my "writer voice" is still in the making when it comes to the fiction I've done. And, of course, action and dialogue don't seem to call for semicolons as much as a paper on radiation hormesis or networking in Renaissance Italy.

3. Spacer

Spacer Active Member

Writing in C++ or Perl, I certainly use semicolons a lot!

In English, no. You get the same "sound" by using a full stop. Only use a semicolon instead to indicate an especially close connection between the two independent clauses.

4. Kristen

Kristen New Member

I'm beginning to wonder if my semi colon addiction isnt indicative of a real flaw in my writing. Maybe it means that I am too often telling and not showing (or I am lapsing into academic style writing!)...
    But to me it has a different impact than simply using a full stop. And it seems to be a natural part of my writing 'voice'. Does it make a difference that it is written in first person?