1. Mercurial

Mercurial Contributor Contributor

Techie Problem

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Mercurial, Jul 10, 2011.

I cannot get my printer to work. It's an old printer (a Canon Pixma InkJet iP1600), but it has done the job for me for years. And I figure, if it hooks up to my computer and knows what to print, than why bother getting a new one until it breaks down?

So here's the deal:

I bought two new ink cartridges --one black and one color-- because it was out of ink. (Duh.) Apparently the new black one is fine, but the color one has "been used previously," even though I just now took it out of the box. So I took the color cartridge back and got a new one since it wasn't working. And it still says the color cartridge has been used before, and it wont let me print, not even in black and white.

Someone pleeeeeeeease tell me how to fix this. :( I need my printer. I'm a student and write a lot of papers, and I also am TRYING to start this art project, but in order to do that, I need my printer to work, and I need a functioning color cartridge.

Sigh.

2. WriterDude

WriterDude Contributor Contributor

Ah, the printer. Easily some of the best and worst equipment you can get to a computer. It's great when it works, but it's notorious for being difficult to use sometimes. I've been around computers for many years, and I have yet to find a single printer than ever caused any problems. (although when I was working a few years ago, we had a printer that "gave up" causing problems when I entered the room. Seriously, the problem solved itself when I entered the room every time for at least six months.) :D

Anyway, if it prints black, but not color, it seems it's the color cartridge that's faulty. I have never heard of a previously used cartridge being sold. Did you get it in a store? If so, I suggest you take it back and demand a brand new cartridge.