1. nightscare

nightscare New Member

What are you currently reading?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by nightscare, Sep 8, 2006.

Not too sure if this should go in book reviews but I guess if the what are you listening to thread is here then I guess it makes sense to put this here.

Right simple really,what are you currently reading? Me? I am reading Bag of bones by stephen king(Just finshed 1984! Great book! I might review it sometime) Anyway Bag of bones is your typical stephen king book with chills,thrills but no spills!:p

2. Verto

Verto New Member

Tornado down by John Peters and John Nichol.

I have only read the first 100 pages, so I am just getting into it.

3. lioness1612

lioness1612 New Member

I am reading

A Breath of Snow and Ashes By Diana Gabaldon

4. Peter

Peter New Member

The Complete Short Stories, Franz Kafka.

Only read the first three stories so far (Description of a Struggle, Wedding Preparations in the Country, The Jugment). Thought A Description of a Struggle, despite being humorous at times, was far too long. Wedding Preparations in the Country was all right, good opening but again was lacking in Kafka's renowned brevity. The Jugment is a masterpiece, though. I read it a while back and it's still one of my favourite short stories. Georg's father standing on the bed touching the ceiling has to be one of the most hilarious yet terrifying images in Expressionist literature, all literature for that matter. The Metamorphosis is the next story.

5. Daniel

Daniel I'm sure you've heard the rumors Founder Staff

Some books I recently finished:

Proven Guilty by Jim Butcher
    Dead Beat by Jim Butcher

Both were excellent.

6. Spherical Time

Spherical Time New Member

Zed, by Elizabeth McClung

<amazon link>

7. storyplanet

storyplanet New Member

The Ellie Chronicles Part one by John Marsden

Tomorrow Series Add on thing.

8. Aurorah

Aurorah New Member