1. TheFinalguy

TheFinalguy Member

Copyright before publishing?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by TheFinalguy, Jun 21, 2018.

I'll be honest, I'm new to the entire process... And I'm looking through the forums confirming to myself that this is a pretty arduous and agonizing process, but in all honesty, I write just to do it. I'd just rather not have my work stolen. Would it be better to copyright before finding an agent or a publisher? How would I go about finding the ideal publisher and their contacts for submission prerequisites?

2. Edward M. Grant

Edward M. Grant Contributor Contributor

1. It's effectively copyrighted when you write it. Should there ever be a question about who really wrote the book, you presumably have a lot of supporting documents to prove you were the author (e.g. old drafts, etc).
    2. People generally only steal successful books. Not to say yours might not turn out to be one of them, but very few first novels are that successful. And it's extremely unlikely that someone in the trade publishing business would do so: in most cases it's people downloading successful self-published books, filing off the serial numbers, and uploading them as their own work.
    3. You really don't want to register copyright yourself if you intend to release the book through a publisher. For various reasons.

John-Wayne and TheFinalguy like this.
  3. noobienieuw

noobienieuw Banned

It is copyrighted the moment you fix your ideas in a medium.
    You can register the copyright to gain additional legal protections and damages should you sue and win.

Not sure what process is agonizing. Getting the copyright from LOC copyright office is not hard.
    Go to their website and follow the instructions. Pay the money. Done.

TheFinalguy likes this.
  4. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor