1. R M

R M Member

What is a good judge for how many chapters your novella should be?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by R M, Jun 2, 2020.

Hey guys, I'm writing a mystery/suspense novella and I've gotten the plot out line done but just don't know how to judge how many chapters or word count it should be. Sorry if i sound immature its cause I'm new at writing mysteries so I'm inexperienced. If any one could help me out with this I'd greatly appreciate it. Thanks and have a great day!

Cdn Writer likes this.
  2. Xoic

Xoic Prognosticator of Arcana Ridiculosum Contributor Blogerator

Some people tend to make their chapters all about the same length, some let a chapter determine how long it needs to be by feel. Personally I'm in the second camp. As I'm writing I just get the feel for when to end a chapter and start the next one. Some go on for dozens of pages, some might just be a paragraph or two. I suppose they get more varied in length when I'm doing comedy.

3. deadrats

deadrats Contributor Contributor

Why a novella? It's just that novellas can my harder sells. I would think you would be better off aiming for a novel, especially if you're still writing. Either way, chapter length is really up to you. I'm a fan of long chapters like 30 to 50 pages. Five or so of those and you're pretty much done. I just like long chapters from a reader's point of view. I hate short, choppy breaks in the narrative, and I think too many short chapters fall into this. I would say on average you want your chapters to be between 10 (at the least) and 25 pages. I think it's okay to slip in a really short chapter if you want it to pack a punch, but you'll lose that effect if all the chapters are just as short.

Cdn Writer likes this.
  4. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

A paperback book averages 250 words per page. A novella maxes out at about 40,000 words.

That's 160 pages.