1. hauntedHarlequinn

hauntedHarlequinn New Member

Alright, I'm out of ideas. Internet I need help.

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by hauntedHarlequinn, Mar 13, 2014.

I have a really really really stupid writing dilemma.

Okay, let me start at the beginning.

I am a writer. I love to create. To share my creations, I sometimes use some unusual... storytelling formats, I suppose, that are beyond just written text in a book. I like to make my stories interactive on some level. Much of it is shaped by audience responses, and they can even ask questions of the characters and "talk" to them to help develop their stories. Over the past few years, I've built up a whole massive cast of developed characters that all live simultaneously in this world. The way it's worked out is that everyone is a main character and a background character at the same time.

In this universe, I have a town I've been working with. I've found the best way to explain the said town and it's role in this story is to compare it to a town you'd find in a video-game RPG. You stroll in, and are surrounded by a billion cardboard-cutout NPCs at once. There are shops, there is a town layout, landmarks, and sometimes local lore. It's somewhat like that, only waaaay more elaborate. Every "building" you'd find is detailed and has a purpose. Every single "NPC" in this town is their own, fully developed character, each with their own lives and motifs and backstories and plotlines. And there is a lot of them. As in, last I checked, we were over one-hundred collective, individual fictional people who live in this town and have their own complex story going. All. At. Once.

Now, lets get back to the dilemma.