1. Safety Turtle

Safety Turtle Senior Member

General questions about beta reading.

Discussion in 'Collaboration' started by Safety Turtle, Sep 18, 2016.

I've seen the term "beta reader" being used a lot, especially in the collaboration forum and as someone new to writing and the "community" I have a few questions about it.

From what I can gather it's about find a group of people to read your work and give feedback, but how does it actually work?
    Do finish writing your current project and then have someone read through it, after edits and all that? or is it more having people read un-edited, first drafts, maybe even on a chapter by chapter basis?

Like I said, I'm new to writing, especially original, novel lenght and have just started my first project and found that I'm very insecure about my writing, story etc and like the idea of getting feedback on what I'm doing, and to also have someone to sort of bounce ideas off of, get a "readers perspective" that isnt my own.
    Would that a "suitable job" for a beta reader or is it something else I would need for that?

I do hope to have it published one day so I'm not to keen on sharing too much in a public way as I've been told that can really hurt your chances.

Hope my questions and concerns are expressed clearly enough.

2. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

It sounds like you're looking for an alpha reader - someone to read your unpolished drafts. Some people call them critique partners. I send my chapters to CPs as soon as they're finished, warts and all, to get feedback on the basics: the plot, the characters, motivation. I'll worry about the actual wording when I know I have the basics right.

Beta readers are the next stage - they read when your work is complete and as polished as you can get it.