Tags:
  1. StormbornT

StormbornT Member

Betas for Outline/Story

Discussion in 'Collaboration' started by StormbornT, Oct 31, 2019.

Is it possible to get betas for the sole purpose of looking over an outline or three page plot blurb? I'm not sure if this is a thing or not.
    I've not yet started writing my new WIP, but I wanted some input on how the story might progress based on the outline, and if it's cohesive or not. I tend to write as a punster. This is my first time doing in-depth plotting and I feel like my head is going to explode.

2. Cephus

Cephus Contributor Contributor

I don't think that's worthwhile. Any story is worth telling if you do it well. I see a lot of inexperienced writers who are worried about "wasting time" telling a story that won't sell. Nothing is a waste of time if you learn from it. The only thing that matters is the final product and that's where you need betas. If you can't get to that point, you've got something to work through.

3. Rockatansky

Rockatansky Banned

I think you want people to look over your concept, and see what they think.

Truth is, there is no such thing as a bad concept, only bad writing. So you would have to come up with some sort of rough draft or revision.

Don't worry about whether it's good or not, just write the story

Richach, Cephus and StormbornT like this.
  4. StoryForest

StoryForest Banned

I think it's possible as I do that kind of thing all the time, haha! Different methods work for different writers, and if you are the kind that has trouble with plotting or figuring out the direction a story should go, it may help to get some inputs on it before it becomes overwheming. I can take a look at it if you want, or, if you know a good story planner, ask if they are willing to take a glance. They may be able to point out things you either didn't notice in your current plot or give you ideas you hadn't considered before.

StormbornT and Rockatansky like this.
  5. StormbornT

StormbornT Member

Thanks!