1. Indui

Indui New Member

Should I wait to publish?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by Indui, Aug 2, 2013.

Hello!
    I've spent about two years writing/rewriting a YA fantasy novel (2.5th draft at the moment..), and several years more getting the characters, setting and plot points straightened out. I'm really, really dedicated to this story...but I'm afraid to put it into the publishing world. I'm currently a sophomore in college set to major in engineering, which keeps me very busy. I know the publishing process requires a lot of attention too, though...at least that's what it seems like from what I've read.

And I know this is a long shot, but it's another one of my concerns--if my first book is good enough to accept a sequel (the story's intended to be a trilogy, but the first can stand alone if necessary), I'm afraid that I won't have enough time to give it the attention it deserves--my next years of college are going to be DEATH according to my upperclassmen buds. How would I manage school while also managing all this? Should I wait until I graduate (2016)? Is publishing a "Drop everything you're doing and do this" deal? I'm pretty new to this as you can tell.

So I guess my main question is--help? Any experienced published authors know how involved you have to be in publishing? Did you do it in between schoolwork/a job?--any tips for a young and naive college student? :p

Thanks. Any feedback is appreciated.

2. Edward M. Grant

Edward M. Grant Contributor Contributor

What do you mean by publish?

If you're thinking of trade publishing, you may be sending it out for years to get a publishing deal anyway so might as well get started. If you're thinking of self-publishing, it's more of a full-time job as you want to keep releasing new books regularly to sustain some momentum with readers.

3. B93

B93 Active Member

Several thoughts: