1. tmacc0

tmacc0 New Member

Describing Character...?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by tmacc0, Jul 15, 2010.

I am new to writing and seem to be having difficulty describing my characters physically. The character I am working on now is Charlie; he is a dog. (based on my dog actually) Him being a dog makes it a little more difficult for me and I am stuck. I wrote out a paragraph describing him generally but I don't know how to adjust it to make it better. What needs to be added or taken away? I am not sure how to show that picture of him that I am trying for. Any advice would be greatly appreciated! :D

Here it is...

Charlie is about 3 feet long and 2 feet high. His whole body is covered in fur, except for his eyes, nose, and the tiny footpads on his feet. His quarter-sized black nose and his skinny, charcoal mouth protrudes a few inches from the rest of his thin, furry face. His eyes are deep and black and always seem to have a mischievous sparkle about them. His legs are long and lanky and are coated in brown and white fur. His tail sprouts from his fluffy white bottom, twists up, and rests on the silky black fur of his back. His long beautiful tail fur cascades down and falls softly around his side.

2. Unit7

Unit7 Contributor Contributor

Unless there is something specifically different about the dog... I would just not describe the dog much at all.

Nearly everyone knows what a Dog looks like. Such a description wouldn't even be needed at all. Now if the dog had very little fur on his entire body then it would be worth the time of describing that. As I said, almost everyone knows what a dog looks like.

Again. We know what Dog looks like. Now if the Tail itself looked like something of a snake. Then yeah it would be worth mentioning.