1. Freespiritgirl

Freespiritgirl New Member

Creative writing book recommendations please

Discussion in 'Discussion of Published Works' started by Freespiritgirl, Feb 2, 2020.

Hi I am very new to writing and plan to start a course soon. I wondered if anyone could recommend a good book to give me some advice and ideas in regards to writing short stories etc, so I don’t feel completely clueless! thank you in advance.

2. More

More Active Member

I like reading books on writing and I have read a lot of them . I have come to the conclusion that most good writers are self taught . Are able to understand their weaknesses and ether work round them or look to improve them .
    But here is one good book to buy How to Write a million , the book is actuly three books by , Dibell , Scott Card and Turco . It explains nearly everything you need to know .
    I buy every book on writing I see . The most recent , and unread , is Learning To Write by Reed Smith pub in 1939 and was used in schools in Canada in the nineteen forties.

3. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

Hi there - Have you visited our Resources section of the forum? https://www.writingforums.org/resources/

You might find some useful stuff there, in addition to what other members might post here on this thread. I could certainly list a few books that have helped me, but I write novels, not short stories. I think you probably want some specific advice about short story writing ...and the two forms are quite different. I'm afraid I don't have anything much to offer in that regard. But I'm sure other people will.

Here's an article from the Writers' Digest blog that might get you started ...some good links at the bottom of it: https://www.writersdigest.com/online-editor/how-to-take-your-short-stories-to-the-next-level

4. thiefacrobat286

thiefacrobat286 Member

Stephen King's On Writing is a kind of Bible for Creative Writers

For Advanced topics, The Art of Fiction by John Gardner is also good.