1. CyberFD

CyberFD Member

Is first person POV a bad thing?

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by CyberFD, Jun 13, 2013.

I'm rather new to writing and although I don't always write in first person, I do enjoy it. I don't know if it's generally frowned upon to have a MC narrate or not, but I do know that most of what I read is third person and not first.

2. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor

There is a lot of first-person material out there. A whole lot. Third person is dominant, but if you want to write in first person there's no reason not to just out of worry it is somehow bad (it isn't) or unpublishable (it's not).

3. PeterJ

PeterJ New Member

Write how you want to write. If you enjoy it, who cares?

Personally, I like first person writing. It pulls me into the work more. I think.

4. EdFromNY

EdFromNY Hope to improve with age Supporter Contributor

There are plenty of examples of first person narration, both by main characters and minor characters. The important thing is to know why you are using first person and to understand its limitations as well as its advantages.

5. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

Read some books written in first person. That will give you an idea of what works and what doesn't.

6. chicagoliz

chicagoliz Contributor Contributor

I sure hope not. I use it all the time.

7. Lixue

Lixue New Member

No, not at all. There are some genres nowadays that it tends to be a bit overused in, but that doesn't mean you can't use it as well if it's what you think will work best for your story. Both POVs have their merits. One of the advantages to using first-person is the way it allows you to get inside a character's head and make the reader feel and see what the character does. Third-person is usually used for when you want to keep your characters relatively mysterious, in my experience.

8. Nee

Nee Member