1. Pauli

Pauli New Member

Lessons of 2008?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Pauli, Dec 31, 2008.

Looking back on 2008 I was wondering how it was for y'all on the writing front?

Me? Well...I'm glad you asked...:)

On the plus side I finished the 7th draft of the play I've been writing for 2 years - it opens in Feb.

I have also decided that next year I will start writing a book. I have LOTS of ideas I just have to make a decision.

How about you?

2. RIPPA MATE

RIPPA MATE New Member

Into second draft of novel, and wrote a heap of short stories...
    The biggest achievement in my eyes though was creating a 13000 word novellete for a competition, getting over the extraordinarily complex story line was awesomely challenging... loved it.
    So yeah rave over...

3. robertpaine

robertpaine New Member

Wrote 30,000 words in two months, but then gave up which was a bad decision, but now I'm starting up again in the new year!

4. tehuti88

tehuti88 New Member

I took notes on my serials to try to get them sorted out. Took me over a year. ;_;

I got some decent work done on my current serial.

I generated lots of ideas for my next serial, and hope to start it sometime next year, if I manage to finish the current one first!

Still haven't hooked and kept any readers. :(

5. greatestescaper

greatestescaper New Member

Got a serious case of writers block which caused me to drop a year long project. At the last minute, about 3 weeks ago, and up until last night I've begun development of a new character. This character became the catalyst to get me writing again. Also finding this forum, which has been a tremendous help. And at this point I've used some of the ideas from my previous failed idea and combined it with one had had years ago and never worked on (probably because i was in the fourth grade).

6. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Too many lessons to list here, but one of the ones that really hit home for me: