1. Sinbad

Sinbad Banned

Is Anyone A Latin or Greek Speaker?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Sinbad, Jun 22, 2009.

Salve! I started learning Latin this week, and I'm utterly fascinated by the language, even more so than French! I really enjoy it, and I think it's much easier than French, although the noun declensions make it a bit more tedious to remember.

2. rory

rory Active Member

I wish. I'd love to learn Latin, but never got a chance in school. Is it very similar to French?

3. Leaka

Leaka Creative Mettle

I am from Greece and moved to California.
    Greek is my first born language.

4. cybrxkhan

cybrxkhan New Member

^Slightly off topic but related, I've always heard that Modern Greek is extremely close to Ancient Greek, but how close is it? I heard that modern Greeks can read Ancient Greek (well, they do use pretty much the same alphabet, I think, with minor changes?) and understand it with not too much a problem. How true is this?

Myself, I'm interested a bit in Medieval/Byzantine Greek. Haven't found much on it, anyhow.

5. Sinbad

Sinbad Banned

The structure is a bit similar where the adjectives come after the noun. Other than that, I think they're a bit different. It reminds me a lot of English because so many in the English language have borrowed from Latin. I suppose the French language borrowed even more, but I'm uncertain because I've been on a hiatus from that language for a bit. Although I plan to pick it up again soon.

The UK government has a Latin tutorial, and you can find it here: http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/latin/beginners/

I'm using that along with Cambridge Latin Course 1, which I found for $6 bucks. It's usually around $30.00 :)

6. ValianceInEnd

ValianceInEnd Active Member

While I completely support you for doing your own thing, I just have to wonder what use is a dead language unless you plan on going into the sciences or studying ancient Latin-speaking societies. It's a dead language after all. :p