1. Neural

Neural Member

Questions from a new writer

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Neural, Oct 28, 2016.

I apologize for not being more specific in my post title, but I like to avoid making that sort of thing lengthy.

I have a couple questions related to my the writing I have done in the past. Please note I have no formal schooling or anything like that beyond what I was taught about writing in high-school. This was only mildly touched on as part of the over grammar and composition education.

First, I am trying to figure out the terms that cover what I write. I'm not talking about Vignettes vs. Flash Ficiton vs. Short Story, etc. At this point I don't really care about length.
    What I want to know is if there is any category that my style fits into.

I have several ..um... threads?

Example: A long time ago I created a character and wrote her into a two paragraph journal entry on Deviant Art (as a graphics artist I have posted there in the past, so text was an option. I put it in the journal for reasons I don't remember).
    A week later, I wrote another little blurb, involving the same character. It was only loosely related to the first one in that, in my mind, it was "later" chronologically.
    Over the next half year, I wrote and posted several short stories (some of them a lot longer than two paragraphs). Each one a story that could stand on it's own, but each one using the same characters, locations, and details. All of them in an un-stated chronological order. Almost like how some TV shows work.

Is this chaotic style even a legitimate form of writing?