1. Archnenna

Archnenna Active Member

Is this a human rights violation?

Discussion in 'Research' started by Archnenna, May 6, 2016.

My story is set in a fictional European country. It's a secular, liberal, progressive country (think Sweden, Denmark etc.). Now, the story is Urban Fantasy and recently supernatural beings have revealed themselves to the world. Three years after the revelation, news laws are passed and these beings, being humanoid, are granted the same rights as humans. They are recognized as people by law, have to abide laws just like everyone else, and are also protected by those laws just like humans.

I was thinking of having a law where everyone should have their species listed on their ID. Now, I'm no expert in politics, so I was wondering if such a law violates human rights? I'm aware that it can be abused (for examples, potential employers can reject candidates based on prejudice and bigotry), which is why I'm unsure whether a modern, progressive country can have such a law.

2. Oscar Leigh

Oscar Leigh Contributor Contributor

Hmm, Nordic model countries do have a pretty good human rights stance. (As well as being awesome, he said non-biasedly, as totally not a Nordic model advocate :whistle::whistle:)
    Well, I'd reference this a lot when considering this question. I've used it before, it's quite an accurate source on human rights. :D
    http://www.un.org/en/universal-declaration-human-rights/.
    Looking at it, it seems to be "arbitrary interference with his privacy". They don't put race, sexuality, birth sex, place of birth, political affiliation or criminal record on your national standard ID.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_identity_card_(Sweden)
    So, probably not justifiable. Sorry if this is a major plot point. But I'm sure you can have other ways to have their identities found out.

3. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor