1. ACCERBYSS

ACCERBYSS New Member

Novel What's Your Writing Process?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by ACCERBYSS, May 26, 2008.

I'm relatively new to writing and continually have great difficulty generating a well crafted and completed piece of prose. The reason I am starting this thread is that I am trying to develop a greater understanding of writing as a process. My intent here is to elicit from you all what works best for you, and then hopefully discover from that what will work best for me through a little experimentation.

Now I realise that there are so many approaches to the craft, and for those of you who gravitate toward the more intuitive style of diving right in I would ask that you break down your approach to the point at which you are comfortable to dive in. (just letting you know I appreciate your time :D)

The inspiration for this comes from the realisation that my approach isn’t working for me. I find that I am drowning in the chaos of partially realised ideas that have begun their lives in bright flashes of inspiration only to die cold and lonely deaths at the fingertips of a disorganised and fickle writer. (he he)

I am not looking to place a rigid structure on my approach it’s just that I feel there is a step or steps I am missing. The reason I feel this way is that if I compare it (my writing) to an artists approach to figure drawing there is an amount of pre-construction with basic shapes and lines (a stick figure) before any detail is added. I believe that I am missing an element in this basic construction phase of prewriting as well as the gaps in my understanding of how to organise, construct and finish a well crafted story.

I’m curios how do you all organise your process?

A: Prewriting
    B: Writing
    C: Revision

The old saying of “Those who fail to plan, plan to fail” is part if my inspiration here.

Thanks in advance to any who wish to help me with this.

Thanks

--ACCERBYSS