1. Lazzamore

Lazzamore Member

Monstrous MC with non-monstrous Love Interest

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Lazzamore, Apr 15, 2018.

I have a question with my latest fantasy project; my main character is an Orc (the evil monster variety, though still in my opinion MC material, not a villain), but his romantic interest I had planned for him is a Nymph (or something like it); so she will be much more human in appearance and culture than him.

What I'm concerned about is alienating audiences, if in my creative fervor I can't see that is uncomfortable for most people (I do that). So my question is: Are most of you repulsed by the concept of an evil and/or ugly creature with a romantic relationship with a very human-looking creature? I don't intend to write any gory details, but I would still want to flesh out their relationship.

I get that if my audience reacts poorly it's probably because I wrote poorly, but since I'm a young writer still, I want to take nothing for granted.

Oscar Leigh likes this.
  2. John Calligan

John Calligan Contributor Contributor

I think people will accept it if the characters are equal.

Big ugly stupid orc with a beautiful magical immortal godling? No thanks.

Big, ugly, brave, strong, creative, rich and honorable orc with a command of magic with a beautiful, magical, immortal, angry, unreliable, thief of a nymph? Sounds better

Wreybies, Oscar Leigh and CoyoteKing like this.
  3. Lazzamore

Lazzamore Member

Haha, yes, of course! My MC is not stupid or otherwise nonredeemable, and his Love interest is not perfect, so check and check.

But just so I understand: Physical differences shouldn't matter so long as they make a relate-able couple from a story point of view? If I'm reading your post right.

Oscar Leigh likes this.
  4. Mckk

Mckk Member Supporter Contributor

[​IMG]

Just gonna leave this here :D

halisme and Oscar Leigh like this.
  5. Lazzamore

Lazzamore Member

:rofl: