1. clchildress

clchildress New Member

Help for a newbie (please)

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by clchildress, Nov 15, 2010.

I'm fairly new to creative writing, having not done any in a number of years. I'm not the world's worst at writing; neither am I what you might call "inspired." However, I have been volunteered to do quite a bit of creative writing, and I'd like to at least give my best attempt.

You see, some friends and I have been working on a story-centric video game. Obviously, there will be a great deal of script writing, and I will likely be in charge of writing most of the script. I'm honored, but also a bit overwhelmed. I have what I hope are generally good ideas but of course being inexperienced I might simply be blithely happy in my own naiveté.

One idea that is particularly near and dear to my heart is a complete anti-hero for the protagonist. Lazy, narcissistic and apathetic, he (or she) is but a lowly courier in the military, ignored by his peers and despised by his superiors....and that's about it for now. Obviously, my courier needs help! So how do I go about forming this character? What would make him engaging to the reader? And does anyone have good examples or novels for reference? I'd like all of the example characters I can get.

I have considered delving into his past to explain why he/she simply cannot be bothered to care, or why he might be so jaded (if that is indeed the case). I have also considered finding a way to explain how he cares deeply about his friends and future but masks everything under a veneer of shallow indifference because of his own self-loathing. Or, perhaps he simply takes life as a leaf takes the stream, floating along because it's always worked for him. There are so many avenues to explore, I'm at a loss for where to go from here.

Thanks a million in advance!!

PS: I'm afraid I'm rather new to these forums (obviously), so if this doesn't belong in "character development" please let me know.