Tags:
  1. Kwek

Kwek New Member

Main character in a fantasy novel

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Kwek, May 4, 2008.

Hi

I am relatively new to the writing of novels, and thus I am unclear as to the guidelines that govern such stories.

I am planning to have a main character, who first appears as someone already reasonably famous and powerful. There would be flashbacks of certain happenings in his early life, of course, but the story would be more or less concentrated on his later growth.

I was wondering if this is a good idea. I know there are no fixed rules with regards to writing, but nonetheless, it would still be a good idea to consult professionals on such an issue.

Also, I am curious as to what precautions I should take when I devise such a character.

All help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a lot.

Kwek

2. Smithy

Smithy New Member

Why do you feel that you have to take precautions? Or show flashbacks for that matter. As you said there are no rules, just because you are writing fantasy doesn't mean you have to start off with an unknown hero who rises to prominence only at the end of the book. The only precaution I'd tell you to take is not to make him so famous that he can't walk down the street without being accoladed by the cheering throng. And even then, I'd let it pass if he's done something to deserve it, like saving the state or something.

As yous said yourself, there are no rules.

3. Gloom Kitty

Gloom Kitty Banned

in a little cage in the bowls of Cephalid
    Flash backs should only be used in a novel if they are being used to further the plot. A character has his or her own personailty so there isn't to many needs for precautions. If your character would do it or say it then go with it

4. MumblingSage

MumblingSage New Member

My heart in on the shores of Gitchee-Gume, my body