1. cosmic lights

cosmic lights Contributor Contributor

Struggling to write a character anybody help?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by cosmic lights, Aug 1, 2019.

I have very little experience with writing and I've come across a problem with my current WIP that I haven't faced before and would appreciate some advice.

I never usually plan my characters or do much prep work on them before I start writing because I usually relate to them easily. But this character not so much. I'm finding her so hard to write but I don't want to give up and change characters just yet. If you're having trouble writing a character what do you do? I can't seem to write her in any scenario.

Thanks

2. The Bishop

The Bishop Senior Member

It helps to really flesh out the character, which I'm not sure if you've done, but since you said you don't do too much character planning I'm assuming. Anyway, there are some pretty simple and quick ways to help you do this. One of which is to give yourself questions and answer them for your character or just plain out have your character answer them.

Ex:
    • Does your character have any siblings?
    • What was their upbringing like?
    • What are their parents like?
    • Political views?
    • What do they look for in friendships/relationships
    • Etc.
    You get as random as you want with these questions depending on how deep you want the character to be, which my advice would say you'd probably want them pretty fleshed out. I hope this can help you, if not just tell me what you are looking for and I can try to help there.

3. cosmic lights

Thank you so much for offering your help but I should have mentioned lots of these questions you can find on this stuff don't apply to my character. My novel is a Fantasy with a character who has no yet been born to the physical world.

4. RobinLC

RobinLC Active Member