1. Gammer

Gammer Active Member

Effects of Dumping Salt into a Fresh Water Source

Discussion in 'Research' started by Gammer, Nov 7, 2016.

Hey all,

I'm wondering just what would happen to fresh water source like a river and a lake when you dump a great deal salt into it. Would the salt clear out eventually or would it linger? If it lingered how long would it stay in the water?

In my work in progress a king, facing an inevitable overthrow by a rebellion, decides to to have the last laugh. He dumps all the salt he has gained from trade into all the nearby lakes and rivers in the kingdom. He also dumps the salt into the soil so nothing can grow.

Fast forward a few generations and when the MC travels to this old kingdom he finds the land dead since very few plants can grow and water so filled with salt it can't be consumed.

How plausible is that outcome?

Thanks in advance.

2. Spencer1990

Spencer1990 Contributor Contributor

I'm no scientist, but I think the answer you're looking for would depend LARGELY on how much salt the king dumps into the water and land. I mean, if he literally covers the land in salt, I could buy some long term impact. But a half-pound per five square feet (for example) wouldn't have the kind of long-lasting effects you're looking for.

And I'm giving you this information as someone who is not a scientist (average reader). I'm sure someone else will chime in and potentially tell me I'm wrong. So take this with a grain of...well...salt. :p

3. EnginEsq

EnginEsq Member

In our world, it depends Unless you're talking salt amounts at the level of an evaporated salt-water sea (e.g. the Great Salt Lake or the Dead Sea) and/or a completely arid climate, a variety of mechanisms will mitigate the salt over time.

1) some plants absorb salt.
    2) rain pushes salt down into the soil, eventually pushing it deeper than the roots.