Tags:
  1. WordWitch

WordWitch New Member

Question regarding villains

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by WordWitch, Feb 24, 2008.

Hi, my name is Sara. I'm an eighteen-year-old aspiring Canadian writer. I've been working on this story for a long time, and I've come to a little rift.

Basically, two of my characters are sisters. The elder sister committed matricide and this was witnessed by the younger sister. This murder negatively effected both sisters: the older sister more or less lost her mind, and acts as the "villain" for my story; the younger sister was torn apart by seeing the sister she so admired commit the unthinkable. The younger sister is more of a main character, and I want the reader to sympathise with her. At times I want people to hate the elder sister, but I find at other times I want them to feel her pain as well.

I am unsure of whether I should include the events leading up to the murder from the elder sister's side so that the reader may feel some empathy for her, or if I should just do a side story, or if I should just leave it out entirely.

I figured I'd ask a general question about character development regarding villains. How do you guys make a "villain" real but still wicked? I don't want her to be a monster, but I don't want the reader to feel too much for her because that would take away from the other sister.

Any advice is greatly appreciated. :) Thank you.

p. s.
    It's a "graphic novel". It doesn't change my question at all, but I thought I should mention that regardless. It sort of changes what I mean by side story. :)

2. Charisma

Charisma Transposon Contributor

To your first question regarding the input of details before the murder to bring in empathy for the elder sister, I'd say that if it doesn't make the story lose it's spark, do a full recap of what happened to cause the elder sister to do what she did. Or, flashback could be a way to do it.