1. alhefner

alhefner New Member

Complete newbie to the review process

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by alhefner, Mar 13, 2008.

I am an avid reader. I also have a great deal of experience in several fields. In reading fiction, I often find glaring "technical" errors that, for me, detract from the story. After all, I want to be transported into the story and those errors usually jar me right back to the reality I was trying to escape.

Would it be reasonable to offer technical review services to publishers and authors? Or am I just too darn sensitive to that type of discrepancy? Is technical accuracy really all that important? I mean even Clive Cussler doesn't seem to understand that a full sized ship has a bridge but never a "wheel house" and he is a nautical fiction writer!

You kind input is greatly appreciated in advance.

2. Bluemouth

Bluemouth Contributor Contributor

I take it you mean on the site?

If so, go for it. I tend to point out technical errors myself, as they're annoying like you said. But also try to add other input when you review as well. Let the writer know what you liked about the story, or how well you could connect with the characters, etc.

3. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

If you are talking about offering a paid service, you would have to clear it in advance with the site owner, Lpspider. I would strongly recommend checking with him even if you would be offering it as a free service.

4. alhefner

alhefner New Member

On this site as with any other forum, I would be seeking advice and guidance and offering the same where I am able. Nothing at all in my posts here, signature lines excepted, would be a "paid service" or an advertisement for anything. I don't spam forums.

What I am trying to explore, with my post, is the demand for technical review services and if such a review service is something that would be viable for a freelance reviewer or even if it matters.