1. Porcupine

Porcupine Member

Trouble With a Plot in The City

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Porcupine, Aug 26, 2013.

Hello all, it's been a long time since I was last here. One of the reasons is that I've had a new job for the last two years, and a baby for the last one year, and both things are consuming my time in a manner unconceivable. ;-)

About a year ago (when I at least still thought about writing, occasionally), I wanted (and I know that verb is going to draw criticism, but there it is!) to write a story set in the dynamic and high-flying world of politics and finance.

I have plenty of inside knowledge to draw upon. From blatant corruption to massive overwork to systematic fraud to mindnumbing incompetence, I believe I've seen enough to last me a lifetime. In principle, that should make for good, even very good, storytelling.

The issue at hand, however, is two-fold.

1. The Plot: I have absolutely no idea for an overarching plot. While everything in the world of high-flying finance is "urgent", few things are actually, genuinely, important. Nobody dies if the numbers are wrong tomorrow. If a trading system goes out of control, four senior technicians are temporarily suspended while some consultancy (or several!) looks into the matter for a few months (and eventually inevitably clear management from blame). If somebody has cheated massively, and a scandal rocks the City, all that happens is that the employing bank tries to claw back some of the 10m$ in bonuses from the cheater in a series of court suits (which is invariably boring, as both sides can afford top law firms that produce thousands of pages of legal documentation and justification that is about as effective at putting you to sleep as the most potent sleeping drugs - you could put the whole thing in two sentances, but that wouldn't be worth an astronomical fee, would it now... ). So that's one problem.