Tags:
  1. sathvikm

sathvikm New Member

Character Defining

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by sathvikm, May 14, 2018.

Hello everyone,
    This is my first attempt at screenwriting and I have a few questions about how to define a character in a script
    Here is my story in brief
    A socially awkward protagonist who is low on confidence turns into a drug addict in college after the death of his mother who was an anchor for him.He is suspended from college after getting caught and lives working an odd job with a drug addict friend. One day his friend is admitted in a hospital after an overdose .Later the protagonist is arrested for possession and is offered a deal to work as a confidential informant for a cop(female lead),he agrees and works for her as he also needs money to take care of his friend .In this process he falls in love with the cop and tries to quit and live a normal life so that he can ask her out,he takes a loan from his estranged father and sets up a diner .His friend gets well and joins him.In the meantime the protagonist gets his life in line earns- well,woos the cop and gets in good terms with his father.The cop also falls for the protagonist ,they start a new life while he is battling addiction.The cop tragically dies in a drug bust related incident and later seeks revenge and so on
    the main characters
    Protagonist
    Mother
    Father
    Friend
    Female led(cop)
    Cop Buddy
    I am facing difficulty establishing specific characteristic traits to my characters and need suggestions for it

2. Kalisto

Kalisto Senior Member

What's his actual archetype? What's his goals, motive, and conflict.

Alan Aspie likes this.
  3. Infel

Infel Contributor Contributor

Hey there Sathvikm! I read through your post, but I didn't see anything that defined your protagonist until I got to this line: