1. Nicolle Evans

Nicolle Evans Member

Writing a beginning

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Nicolle Evans, May 3, 2016.

Beginning's are hard!

I have written just above 20 beginnings for the same story that I have been working on since 2011 and I STILL don't know which to use and none of them feel just right.

At what point should a beginning be left behind to continue the rest of the story? (I feel like I've got so caught up on the beginning that the rest of the story is being neglected despite me knowing how the story will go, and end.)

How do you deal with the beginning of a story?

Also your first sentence: is that truly something I should get so het up over (I have racked up quite a few hours of hetting up about this!)

2. Feo Takahari

Feo Takahari Senior Member

Where possible, the best way to start is with a scene that begins the main plot, shows what the conflict will be, and hooks the reader so they want to see how the conflict will be resolved. However, there are a lot of cases where you can't do that: if the main plot requires explanation and exposition to make sense, if you have to demonstrate the MC's personality in a way that can't be done in the first plot-relevant scene, if the main plot starts off so fast-paced that the reader will be thrown for a loop . . . In those cases, I start off with a scene that demonstrates the MC's personality and gives some idea of how they behave when faced with a conflict. Because I'm good at writing characters, I find that character-building scenes can function as my "hooks" and create initial interest in place of a plot-starting scene. (If you have another talent, like creating interesting settings readers will want to see more of, you may be able to use that as your hook instead.)

Oscar Leigh and Nicolle Evans like this.
  3. Wayjor Frippery

Wayjor Frippery Contributor Contributor