1. waveofmutilation

waveofmutilation New Member

supernatural characters in fictional work

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by waveofmutilation, Dec 31, 2011.

A dilemma:
    In writing a piece of fiction, I am torn between articulating a character as truly, without-a-doubt supernatural or just special (deserving of exceptional description and conveyed fascination but not necessarily defiant of the statutes of human nature).

As an amateur writer I have been told to not worry about the marketability of my work. I can agree with this bit of advice but at the same time I will be disappointed if using a supernatural character coupled with my mostly undeveloped writing voice will be detrimental to the potential reception of my work amongst readers at say a ninth grade reading level and above. I don't want readers tossing my work thinking I'm trying to craft a ghost story.

Deep down I'm really striving to paint my supernatural characters in the same vein as The Judge in Cormac McCarthy's Blood Meridian. That being said, I fear that I do not have the raw writing ability of such an author and will be unable to grip readers from beginning to end -- I fear they will dismiss my work as nonsense at an early stage.

I have considered varoius methods of implying that the supernatural characters are illusionary but I really want to avoid painting my main character as a mad man. I have much to ask about different possibilities but I don't want to get carried away until I can read or hear someone else's thoughts.

Any responses are truly appreciated... Many thanks in advance...

2. -oz

-oz Active Member