1. KickMe

KickMe New Member

Making money

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by KickMe, Mar 29, 2008.

Hi

I was wondering if there was a style or genre that has the possibility to earn me money straight away? When I was a kid my English teacher told me to write short stories for magazines. Does anybody else have any experience?

I have absolutely no preference (at the moment!) as to which genre or style I want to go in. Kids books, poems, women's magazines, all that sort of stuff. As long as they give you money for your stuff (if it's good enough).

I have nothing written yet, but I'm willing to go at it if somebody says "yeah, the money's all in Sci-Fi" or "fantasy" or "romance" or "Such-and-such pays £10 for each poem published".

Not saying I'm brilliant or anything, but I'd like to have a go at writing for money, so if anybody has any ideas for where I should start, I would be really grateful.

Cheers

Karl :)

2. InPieces

InPieces New Member

Pretty much, if you're good at writing, ANYTHING will pay. But the catch is, you have to be good. Poetry is normally the lowest paying, unless you are utterly brilliant, and you publish a full anthology of you work that sells millions of copies. Short stories are fiarly good paying. Novels and children's book can actually become a main income-supplier, GIVEN that your good enough to get in with a good publisher.

All in all, the catch is, you have to be good. And even then, unless you're one of the lucky ones (ie. JK Rowling), you're probably gonna start getting published for free or with very low pay to get a name for yourself. Everyone has to start somewhere :)

Good luck.

3. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

The only quick money I know of in writing comes from writing out resumes and submitting them to prospective employers. They generally prefer to see nonfiction.