1. AnimalAsLeader

AnimalAsLeader Active Member

Loving a fictional character?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by AnimalAsLeader, Nov 4, 2019.

Hello everyone!

I wanted to ask you a question that probably does not apply to writing novels as much as it does apply to writing video game stories. I am a game dev myself, so this is of particular interest of me, not just for analyzing existing games, but also creating my own.

Now, its not mystery how to establish some general emotions towards a fictional character. You want your audience to hate a character? Make them do terrible things. You want them to like a character? Make them do "good" things.

But once in a while in video games - especially RPGs where you play a character in the world - you come across characters that are the loved ones of your protagonist. How do you make the player feel towards these characters in such a way that it at least comes close to the in-world-relationship of the two characters? For example, how do you portray a person so that not only they become a father figure for the protagonist, but also for the player?

2. jim onion

jim onion New Member

With a father figure, it might be useful to have them guide the player. A tutorial section would be a good opportunity for this.

I can't really think of any video games I played where the main character's wife stood-out to me. At best I can describe many of them as "serviceable".

The problem I've noticed with this in video games, is that they kill off the wife or child or whoever in the first three minutes. Usually a cutscene, and occasionally a interactive "cutscene". I don't even care about spoiling it because there's practically zero emotional investment: Watch_Dogs and The Last of Us are guilty of this. But that's okay, since the story isn't really about the characters who die in the opening minutes. They're, sadly, just a plot device to help force-start the character's actual journey.