1. Erik-the-Enchanter!

Erik-the-Enchanter! Banned Contributor

Currently Reading::
    Love Poems

Race in Fantasy (Historical Negligence)

Discussion in 'Fantasy' started by Erik-the-Enchanter!, Jan 19, 2024.

Categorically, I have seen across genres that (especially in fantasy novels set in ancient times) people of color are excluded. Even the Lord of the Rings books originally described some of the Hobbits as being "nut-brown" in color and they were all cast as white people in the movies. And when they cast darker skinned folks in the Ring of Power series, fans were profoundly upset, even though none of them complained about all the Hobbits being white in the first place.

I guess my question would be, in what ways can this be corrected? How can I go about unraveling the tangle web of White Supremacy through my literature? I am a published author and I am almost done with my next novel, but I am seriously considering tackling this issue through my writing and would love to hear your suggestions. Also, if you have any examples of literature that do this successfully, I would love to take a peak at it.

[​IMG]

2. Le Panda Du Mal

Le Panda Du Mal Contributor Contributor

Read/ write fantasies with central characters of color. Which people have been doing for a while. Do a search, for instance, for black fantasy novels. Or if you want to go far back (and get very weird) check out Amos Tutuola's The Palm Wine Drinkard.

3. Erik-the-Enchanter!

Love Poems