1. morningside

morningside New Member

Query- oh my!

Discussion in 'Agent Discussion' started by morningside, Jul 13, 2009.

I'm not sure how familiar everyone is with the query letter (I'm new to the forums), but having finished my manuscript, I've now moved on to looking for an agent. I believe my query letter is good enough, but I'm also new to the publishing world. I'll post it, and if you could give me any feedback, that'd be awesome!

"I believe my first epic young adult novel, Morningside, would be an interest to you. At 49,000 words, through the eyes of the self-conflicted heroine a story of love, survival and incertitude unfolds. Holding true to the original folklore of vampires, the story caters to those used to masochism and solitude, blended with the romance and humanism recently desired among readers.

After the first bite, Ava assumed it would be all over; her social life, her chance at a normal future, the opportunity at an unpredictable, yet expected death. Fear and adrenaline both pulsed through her veins, and as a vampire, this would be her new normal. But never-ending life wasn’t supposed to end so quickly. The thirst for blood, the magnification of each and every sense, the eternal potential, was just as temporary as her excitement. Ava was no longer the predator, but the prey. She was human. In a house full of vampires, she was their easiest meal option– until it happened again. As her adrenaline rose, and excitement spiked, she found herself on the same plain as the other vampires, and she was just as hungry for blood.

Was she a mutant? There were no webbed feet or tails to support the theory. Was she a hybrid? It was a logical assumption, but she was never a mix of the two species. Nevertheless there was something different about her, and even as a vampire, she became the hunted.