1. SSW

SSW Member

Hello :)

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by SSW, Jan 1, 2020.

Hello!! I am new here.

I like to read and thought why not learn to write well. I am just a beginner and haven't really written much of anything. I want to learn how to write short stories and improve my grammar as well lol.
    Hoping to learn writing and make some new friends :) cheers:cheerleader:

Question: How should I go about learning how to write and which parts of the forum should I focus on as a beginner?

2. Some Guy

Some Guy Manguage Langler Supporter Contributor

Welcome :)

SSW likes this.
  3. Madman

Madman Life is Sacred Contributor

Welcome! Have you read any books on writing? I have read one, but keep forgetting some grammar rules... Heard that Stephen King's "On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft" is pretty good.

I think you should begin to post some critiques maybe, tell people what you like about their stories if you don't feel confident enough to tell them what errors they may have made.

SSW likes this.
  4. SSW

SSW Member

Yeah I've read on writing its great.
    Will write critique sure:)

Madman likes this.
  5. HarukaHanayami

HarukaHanayami Member

Hey, good to see someone just starting out!
    My advice would be to just start with something - no need to post or publish anything. But once you get into the habit of writing, you'll naturally get better.

SSW likes this.
  6. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

Hi, SSW, and welcome to the forum! I'm one of the moderators here, and have to say it looks like you've started the New Year with a bang, by joining a writing forum in order to get your writing off and running. Hey.