1. jayanimate

jayanimate New Member

An introduction, and a question for all

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by jayanimate, Sep 20, 2014.

First of all, hello. I've just signed up to this forum today.

I'm an MA student in the uk, and I've been wanting to write for some time. I have a finished manuscript that has been sent off in the past, and while I have nothing to show for it save some feedback, I have to ask about writing in general.

I had an idea for a novel series when I was about 14, and have spent years trying to perfect the details, find my style and shape this story. I have document and after document of character biographies, chapter summaries, timeline charts, character artwork, location artwork, even some book cover designs. Thing is, since my first manuscript was finished at the age of 17, I have had to put my writing on one side for my college and university education. I have two more years till I finish, and I feel I must sadly put this part of my life to one side, even though I think about my story most days of the week.

My feedback I got years ago was simply:

In many ways the writing is strong. You use effective imagery and an intriguing storyline is developing.

On the whole though, if you don't me me saying so, it is rather over-written. More should be left to the reader's imagination. 'Show, don't tell', as publishers are always saying.

I do hope you find the right agent.

I've taken this to heart and tried to perfect my use of wording, but I'm not ready to write another one (though I have everything is bullet points.

Does it seem now is a good time to stop writing and pick up when my studies finish? Has anyone else had to put off writing? How did you cope? I keep feeling I'm procrastinating pointlessly by not progressing with my work.

2. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

When are you going to have MORE time than you do now?