Tags:
  1. deadrats

deadrats Contributor Contributor

Are you a better writer now?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by deadrats, Oct 23, 2019.

I've done a lot of writing this year, more than last year. I'm primarily a short story writer and an essayist. And I submit a lot. And I get published, though, I do wish that happened more. Still, everything I have on submission I feel really good about. There are no duds or maybe someone will like it. I believe in the work I am putting out there. And I believe in my writing more than I did this time last year.

I'm also more in love with my novel-in-progress. It's turning out to be a better story than I thought it would be. I've gone back and reworked it because I'm a better writer now and I realize my novel can be a better novel now.

It's hard to really measure progress, but than all of a sudden we notice changes in the way we write and the way we approach our material. It can be a slow process, but it happens. We get better. So, I'm just wondering if you guys also are seeing improvements. Are you a better writer now? And what sort of things made you realize this?

2. Tralala

Tralala Active Member

Yus. Tralala rites gud now.

EFMingo, deadrats and J.T. Woody like this.
  3. Tralala

Tralala Active Member

Sorry. I saw you hadn't had replies.

Crikey, I hope I've improved. Imagine if one went through all this, and got worse.

4. cosmic lights

cosmic lights Contributor Contributor

I think my knowledge and my critical eye has improved. But whether y skills have changed much I'm not sure. Writing is a craft that takes years to succeed in. It's like being a piano player, it takes years of dedication and patience to become a master and two years (for me) really isn't very much.

deadrats and Tralala like this.
  5. JLT

JLT Contributor Contributor