1. pouted

pouted New Member

Writing from a male's perspective?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by pouted, Nov 4, 2013.

So, I've been developing this story since the summer, and though I'm still putting things together, I still don't feel secure with this character. It hit me almost immediately that the story would make much more sense coming from my male protagonists POV, but my heart still belongs to my female. I know who she is so well and fell in love with her instantly. I'll be honest and say that this is my first attempt at writing and overall I'm still really shaky about everything. Especially writing from a male's POV (I am a teenage girl).
    His name is Joshua Sales, he's 18, a dreamer, obedient, gangly, sheltered, and self-deprecating. He's treated as an up and coming brainiac but doesn't feel he's special in any way. He gets so much attention for his looks that he deliberately dresses down, and refuses to fix his teeth, because he's concerned that people won't take him seriously. I still don't know his voice. I don't know if I'm insecure about him or myself as a writer. I just know that I don't feel that I'm ready to take him on in text.
    I'm worried, mostly, that I'll turn him into a cliche. He's going to go through a lot of development throughout the story and I don't want to make him too masculine and unrealistic. How should I approach this?

GingerCoffee likes this.
  2. TWErvin2

TWErvin2 Contributor Contributor

Pouted,

Writing from a different gender's perspective can certainly add a greater bit of difficulty to the exercise. So far of the 3 novels and dozen short stories I've written, only one short story was from a female's perspective.