1. mac89

mac89 New Member

Having trouble

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by mac89, Jul 8, 2009.

Hey everyone, this is my first time here and Im pretty embarrassed to say this, but I am having trouble expressing myself verbally let alone on paper. My writing skills are not up to par and honestly I dont know how I reached college level. I kind of skimmed by , but now, it is too late and I feel like I cant go through school like this anymore. I dont know anything about writing. I write stories, I tried, but its always been crossed out and shot down by people so Im insecure. I need to write a story by tomorrow and I have nothing, nothing going on in my head. I free write but its like elementary writing...I feel doomed. I dont know what to do. I searched online, I asked people to give me ideas, but i feel lazy and hopeless . For me, sentences are hard to form beautifully, I read other works and I think to myself, I wish I can write like that. When Im reading , I just read words and try to figure out whats going on instead of the authors writing style and elements they use. I dont what you can do about this, but I need encouragement or tips. thanks

2. Rei

Rei Contributor Contributor

There are no tips or words of encouragement anyone can give you that will work unless you're willing to turn around that attitude. You have to just relax and enjoy the process.

3. Kas

Kas New Member

I think you're beating yourself up over nothing. A beautifully constructed sentence does not a good writer make. Some people will find something to criticise no matter how you write. That's the purpose of a critic, and no writing is ever perfect. If you wrote beautiful and elaborate sentences, many people here would tell you to simplify things. What you call elementary might be someone else's ideal.