Tags:
  1. Leanne

Leanne Member

Legal issues

Discussion in 'Research' started by Leanne, Nov 30, 2018.

Hello, everybody!
    I have quite a lot of questions concerning law and since these questions are quite specific, it is really hard to find relevant answers on the Internet.
    So I would like to ask if you know someone or a webpage where I can write a question about legal issues and get answers from actual attorneys or any other persons who know the law. I am just a student, so I cannot afford to pay much, so if you know about someone or a webpage that is for free if it is possible, or at least doesn´t cost much. What I need are answers from U.S. criminal law and jurisdiction (state vs. federal). I would very grateful.
    Thank you for your suggestions in advance.

2. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

Are you asking for advice in the sense of research to make a book authentic, or actual legal advice that you will act on?

I suspect that actual attorneys would be incredibly reluctant to give you actual legal advice in this informal way.

BayView and Steerpike like this.
  3. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor

Yes. It’s one thing to speak in general terms about law or even to comment on hypotheticals. Advising someone in the manner suggested above would likely create an attorney-client relationship, and attorneys are going to be reluctant to do that under such circumstances.

4. Leanne

Leanne Member

Well, I am sorry but I don´t really understand what´s the difference. It concerns the story (and certain characters), it is not something I would act on. I suppose it is about authenticity of the story.
    Perhaps I should give more information and maybe you will be able to help me.
    The point is my female heroine is a thief and she is going to be arrested.
    So here are the questions.