1. Elando

Elando New Member

Need help developing a plot idea

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Elando, Mar 12, 2011.

Hey there,

I've been a fan fiction writer on and off for the past few years and I've finally thought up what I think is at least a semi-original idea for what I hope to write as either a book or, if I could find the talent to draw the thing, a comic/graphic novel.

The world I have in mind is your typical cliche fantasy world with the usual fantasy elements, but with a twist.

The whole idea revolves around continually breaking the 4th wall as a main plot element to create a comedic-drama piece.

The story would revolve around the character Fredrick McNeal, a simple farmer who became the first prophet of Narrativism. The religion is based on the idea that the universe as they know it is created by an author in a parralell universe and that everyone within the universe is mearly a creation of that author in order to entertain the audience. Fredrick discovered the religion after hearing the voice of the author firstly in his dreams which then escallated into everyday conciousness of the authors voice and the ability to work outside his influence, to go against the story and carve his own path.

His goal is to spread the word of Narrativism across the land in order for people to become aware of their actions and break the hold the author has on their minds, as each person living within the world has the voice of the author in their head, effectively narrating their lives, sort of like the little voice/conscience in our world that tells us when to do or not to do something.