1. john11

john11 Member

scene separation

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by john11, Sep 12, 2013.

Hi and thanks for reading this post.

What is the best way to start a new scene within a chapter?

I usually start a new chapter, to start a new scene or to change pov character, but a lot of people use many scenes within a chapter. What is the best way to do this.

I have seen dots, dashes, asterixes etc, but found this method too obtrusive personally.

Is it okay to end one scene then begin the next scene immediately, just a paragraph break. What method do you use.

Many thanks in advance. John.

2. obsidian_cicatrix

obsidian_cicatrix I ink, therefore I am. Contributor

I don't like the asterisk, dots and dashes either, but the reader still needs demarcation. Personally, I press return three times, rather than twice as I would when changing paragraph. I've no idea whether this is the correct way to do it, I'm still a novice, but I've never had a reader report a problem with it. I think I remember reading somewhere that when preparing a manuscript a hash tag is employed.

Hmmm... I think this could be quite jarring to a reader. They'll be expecting to read one thing, and end up reading another.

3. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

I always do the three spaces between scene changes. It works for me when I'm writing because it's uncluttered.

However, I understand that submissions for publication will require a different approach. I'll cross that bridge when I come to it. I suppose it will be easy enough to insert hash marks, if required.

4. Thomas Kitchen

Thomas Kitchen Proofreader in the Making Contributor