1. YouBeTheDelta

YouBeTheDelta New Member

Hi + accidental reflection on minority main characters

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by YouBeTheDelta, May 22, 2015.

Hi!

Delta here. Just graduated. Hoping to make the most of the two months I have right now before I start working. Checked out a few other writing forums in search of a community centered more on honing writing skills and less on publishing. I knew I found the right one when I saw the way this one was laid out, so I'm just getting started checking this place out.

I am a second generation immigrant, which has ended up important in my writing because I try to explain both the American culture and the South Asian culture to each other. The second perspective on how we live life comes in handy to other people, I am finding out. This was surprising for me, however, because I had originally struck out, from long ago, to someday write the kind of stories that had inspired me as a child. I had intended to go into the fantasy and science fiction route, but my professors made me realize there's a lot to say about the experiences other South Asian kids growing up here.

At the moment they seem to be more worthwhile than the fiction I have been trying to write lately. So I struggle now to go the scifi / fantasy route, which I think will make me happy, but I know there is a lot I can do by simply writing fiction with South Asian characters. I've actually been trying to figure out how to make my South Asian protagonist fit into my science fiction story right now without feeling weird about it. "Why shouldn't I be able to put them together?" was my original thought.