1. Cady36

Cady36 Member

He, he, and she, and point of view.

Discussion in 'Point of View, and Voice' started by Cady36, Jan 3, 2009.

Hi to all,

I hope you guys can help. Since this is a wayyyy newbie question, if someone could just point me to a good article or tutorial, I'd be extremely grateful.

I have a bit of writing experience, but none recently, and virtually none involving dialog. I'm a programmer and graphic designer, and have written stuff for college level computer graphic text books, marketing copy, "Daily Journal of Commerce" -type corporate articles, etc., but nothing but ad and website copy in the past seven or eight years.

Years ago - maybe 20 years ago? Yikes! - I had a short story published, and started work on a novel that I never finished. The short story had, I think, two lines of dialog in it (it was a short short).

Recently, I had an idea for a story, and so I'm...playing, I guess. I finally sat down at the keyboard tonight, and have been having one of those lucky nights where the words just fly off your fingertips. (Relatively speaking, that is - I've written about 500 words I actually like in about 2 hours. That's a lot better than I do in technical manuals and corporate articles - lol.)

I sort of started in the middle of this story, because there's a particular conversation going on that is so vivid to me I'm having dreams about it...but it's all dialog, and I'm really having problems with he said/he thought/he did. The point of view in this story will change many times, and often quickly, though hopefully always clearly. I really need to get this down.

This conversation is between two men and a woman. I won't bore you with my actual dialog, but made up a few lines of text illustrate the point.

In this example, the current point of view is "David's". I'm getting stuck on the "he said/he did", mainly, when can I use "He leaned back in his chair" and when must I use "David leaned back in his chair"?