1. eddyuk

eddyuk New Member

Describing camera continuous moving

Discussion in 'Scripts and screenplays' started by eddyuk, Oct 30, 2018.

Hello,
    I started practicing writing with short stories and idea I am trying to write involves narration while what you see on the screen is drone flight over city and then over fields and then over some open area. I haven't found any inspiration on how to describe what you see while there is a narration. Any suggestions / examples?

Thanks

2. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor

Isn't it just something like:

A drone flies over a modern city. It passes out of the city, over fields and into an open area.

Narrator (V.O.)

whatever the narrator says

I'm not an expert at screenwriting, but I've read a few screenplays and I think it's handled something like that. Maybe you'd split up the city, fields, and open area description between specific bits of narration. Or maybe you can just say it's a continuous shot that starts over the city, etc., and then go into the narration.

3. Solar

Solar Banned Contributor

Sweeping birds eye view? Or perhaps sweeping aerial shot?

4. EBohio

EBohio Banned

You can use SERIES OF SHOTS

Narrator (V.O.)

whatever the narrator says

SERIES OF SHOTS

A) Long Island Highway During Rush Hour
    B) A Field Of Birds
    C) A Farm
    D) A Lonely Field With A Crashed Two-Seater Plane
    Etc.

This is used a lot to show people falling in love as quick as you can. First you see when he picks her up, then SHOTS of them at a fair, then on rides... all the way up to the first kiss. Usually there is music instead of narration though.

[link redacted]

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 31, 2018
    Steerpike likes this.
  5. Bobby Burrows

Bobby Burrows Banned Contributor

In screenplay writing, you get a bunch of scripts, including the script for the camera.
    Might need to use boards to draw the shots, but I'm guilty of writing my camera direction into my screen plays.

Words like;
    Pan