Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eustace

eustace New Member

Two Contracts Offered - which one is best?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by eustace, Feb 9, 2009.

Hi - I am a first time author and have been given the choice of two contracts for a book to be published soon.

The first, is a sort of standard one offering 10% of Net Receipts going up to 12.5% if volumes achieve 40,000. Net receipts are net of returns.

The second contract, is a litte more unusual. It is a profit sharing scheme which goes something like this.
    The publisher and myself will split the profit 50:50. The profit is the value of net receipts minus any costs associated with the book. Costs are things such as production, distribution, marketing and promotion. They have given me a loose breakdown with this system which goes something like:

Sell 2,500 copes at RRP of 7.99 and after discounts/returns/costs I get a profit of £546

Does anyone have any thoughts on these, especially the latter contract, or any related experiences.

All comments gratefully received

2. NaCl

NaCl Contributor Contributor

Which contract does your agent recommend?

3. eustace

eustace New Member

I haven't got an agent is the simple answer

4. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

You should consult a literary lawyer, or get an agent. If you don't have sufficient knowledge about poblicationb contracts to know which contract is better from a summary standpoint, how will you be sure there are not provisions in the contract that will leave you at a serious disadvantage?

5. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

do NOT take any advice given here, or on any other website! [other than cog's or my 'non-advice']... hie thee to a literary attorney asap!

will either of those publishers expect you to contribute even a single penny?... if they do, they're scammers, so run, don't walk!

6. eustace

eustace New Member