1. Lmc71775

Lmc71775 Active Member

Publishing a Children's Story

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by Lmc71775, Feb 6, 2010.

I have a question...or a few questions really about publishing a children's book with a subidized publishing company.

I just recieved news that a Pub. Co. wants to publish my story into a book, but I have to pay a one time flat fee (a low amount, but that's it) I would recieve 50% royalties from each retail selling book. They will market it on their website and Amazon too. (which is kinda cool, more publicity)

Anyway, I just emailed the editor with some questions now and am very eager to hear back. I figured while I wait for a response, I thought someone here would know.

Since it is a children's book their should be illustrations (I of course have none being that I am just a mediocre artist. Who will draw for my book? Do I get a say in the drawings?

I was just wondering if anyone here has done one and knows.

2. TWErvin2

TWErvin2 Contributor Contributor

What will the subsidy publisher do for you that you could not do for yourself by self-publishing?

A spot on the subsidy publisher's website and availability on Amazon.com isn't really going out of their way to market, and won't make much difference.

Is the publisher going to pay for an artist to complete your book? What quality will the artist be and will it enhance the book? Will the cover art at titlework be somewhat generic and uninspiring as often happens with subisdy publisers?

I am not a fan of self-publishing, but it is right for some folks. Everyone has a path that they view as right for them. I am even less of a fan of subsidy publishers, but again, each writer has his/her own vision.

Have you tried the traditional route?