1. Bitter_Laugh

Bitter_Laugh New Member

Short Story Plots

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Bitter_Laugh, Jan 11, 2011.

When writing a short story, I tend to start in the middle and end abruptly. I know that sounds confusing, but what I mean is that I start right as the action is happening and then when I end it do so in an abrupt manner. I have received complaints that I "kill off too many characters" which I do, but it seems necessary when ending a short story. Does anyone have any short story plotting techniques? :D

2. Agent Vatani

Agent Vatani Active Member

Well some books start with action but some don't.
    If you want to that's fine, if you have just at one character POV. Then you can start in a dream with action and character can wake up and ect....
    But that's just a idea.
    :)

3. Alexei

Alexei New Member

Hey Bitter Laugh,

Well, I'm quite new to writing and I've been trying my hand at short stories. I don't really feel that there's a need to kill the characters at the end of the short story. Why? It seems that what is important is that some kind of transformation occur in the MC. In a sense, a transformation is a death. Old self dead - new self born. And the transformation can be very small or very large, it can advance the characters "development" and "growth" or make them slide back. If they're always dead at the end, that's kind of a let down. I mean, it can be cool some of the time - but definitely not all the time!

As for plotting. I usually write down short story ideas as they enter my mind in one big file. When I'm ready to write a new story, I look through all those ideas and pick the one that really excites me, that has something really cool and interesting and special about it. Sometimes it'll be an inciting incident - what happened first to change the MC's world. Sometimes it'll be just a character or a concept.