1. SNJade96

SNJade96 Senior Member

Number of Main Characters

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by SNJade96, Nov 11, 2020.

Edit: I'm done with this, so no more advice is needed. Thanks to everyone who replied!

I'm currently preparing the plot of a book (in the very early stages) and I'm debating the number of main characters I want. Just to clarify, they wouldn't all be POV characters, or at least, not routinely. Maybe two or three scenes narrated in the entire book for some, likely less.

Currently I have five characters that I'm preparing to do profiles for, but I'm considering adding a sixth. There wouldn't be any more than that. I might also want to lower it to four, though I'm more averse to that for story reasons that would qualify as spoilers.

I want to decide which to go with, five or six, before I go any further, and decided to ask for advice. I'm hesitant to add a sixth because I'm not that experienced a writer, having only finished the first draft of one book (though I've been writing short stories for years), and I've never written anything with more than one POV, though to be perfectly honest, I don't think that'll be a problem for numerous reasons that would make this post much too long to list. I'll decide in the end, but hearing other people's words of wisdom certainly can't hurt.

Last edited: Nov 15, 2020
    CrimsonAngel likes this.
  2. Cephus

Cephus Contributor Contributor

It depends entirely on the needs of the story. Why do you need these characters at all? What is their purpose? Characters must serve the story. How do they do so and why are they necessary? What do they add to the narrative? Those are questions only you can answer.

marshipan and Storysmith like this.
  3. SNJade96

SNJade96 Senior Member