1. princesspea

princesspea New Member

Just a little shy....hello.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by princesspea, Dec 28, 2007.

Hello everyone,

Thought I should introduce myself now I have registered instead of lurking in the background somewhat eerily.

My name is Melanie and I am 32, married with 4 children. I am a registered nurse who used to care for terminally ill older folk but had to leave my job way back in February 2006 when I became severly ill and hospitalised during my pregnancy. (Sick note I hear you cry? Due to my ever present conscience knowing how strapped for staff and cash the NHS is I thought it fair for me to take a career break so my position could be filled).

I am an avid reader and always have been, dipping into every genre conceived and as I have time on my hands (limited with my 4 kids however) I figured it was time to try my hand at writing. Guess what? I've finished my first novel!

Its full length and I am really pleased with it (spending January ironing out grammar etc before sending ms to anybody though)and got it all down in under two months. I spent every spare second I could juat writing and I love the story. Unsure which genre I fall into so maybe someone could help me out with that at some point?

Even if my first attempt is rubbish (who knows) I know I had the motivation and determination to see it through. If it never gets a public airing I will relegate it to the loft for my grandchildren.

Really hoping I can get lota of advice and maybe a confidence boost, and hopefully some of you could read what I have done and give me an opinion.

Anyway, farewell for now and I look forward to chatting with you all.

Melanie x :)

2. Raven

Raven Banned

Let me be the first to welcome you to writingforums.org.

3. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Hello Melanie, Welcome to the Writing Forums.