1. Cress Albane

Cress Albane Active Member

Dumbest ways to solve the world's problems

Discussion in 'Research' started by Cress Albane, Jan 11, 2022.

From a scientific standpoint, what would be the stupidest way to solve problems like global warming, poverty, pollution, etc. I have a story about an overpowered tyrant who always thinks he knows everything best and wants to solve such problems to be seen as a "world's savior". But I have limited knowledge on some subjects (especially physics). So, any ideas?

2. Catriona Grace

Catriona Grace Mind the thorns Contributor Contest Winner 2022

Stupidest way to solve world problems: mass extermination of humans.

Cave Troll, Kalisto, SethLoki and 4 others like this.
  3. evild4ve

evild4ve Critique is stranger than fiction Supporter Contributor

The stupidest way to solve problems is single-handedly whilst distracting everybody else from them with unicorn rabies:-

- unicorn rabies is a self-explanatory imaginary disease
    - it only admits of binary opinions (unicorns do or don't carry rabies)
    - it's untestable (unicorn rabies can only be disproven with a blood sample)
    - it offers an infinite variety of expensive remedies (airlift all other creatures away from the unicorns' habitats... scrub all unicorns with aloe vera bleach...)
    - it requires multidisciplinary study (this is where being a tyrant helps, he can invent the necessary degree courses and professions)
    - it has an international dimension (the tyrant can divert tax funds to benefit the unicorns of friendly regimes overseas)
    - it has a fear factor (unicorns are invisible and can do magic - and they carry rabies)