1. lady_augusta

lady_augusta New Member

Hi :)

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by lady_augusta, Mar 7, 2019.

Hi! I'm Augusta. I'm a college student who is majoring in history but I've been writing since I was about ten years old (and making up stories in my head long before that). I write a lot of fantasy, both original and fan fiction, although even when my stories heavily feature magic I'm very into politics and family dynamics almost more than I am the fantastical elements. I have also been working on what could be called my first 'sci-fi' story this year, although I haven't been doing well with the technical elements and that hampers my progress.

But the reason why I come to this forum seeking a writing community is because of the story I am working on now, which I have tried to write for a year with no success, and now I have some success but am still dissatisfied. This is also one of my first historical works, and definitely my first to be researched in such depth as I have. This is because I am turning in this story in May for the final project of my history class. This story is about the heiress to a dangerous frontier barony in the Crusader States in 1130 and her family and friends.

I know there are a lot of fantasy writers and sci if writers here just from lurking for a bit (hey!) and I was wondering if there were any fellow historical fiction writers around too!

2. XRD_author

XRD_author Banned

Wish I could help, but as a (unpublished) SciFi writer, most of the history I know is of the future.

Being a history major should serve you well as a writer. Good luck.

lady_augusta and John-Wayne like this.
  3. lady_augusta

lady_augusta New Member

Thank you! That's a fun way to put it for sci fi writing as well.
    I got my idea for this story in another history class, so I think so! :)

Nariac likes this.
  4. Moon

Moon Contributor Contributor